Go Back


The 2019 Tournament Season is a wrap! Saturday was the fifth and final event for our series on Lake Springfield. Three or four teams were within 12 points of the year end points leaders going into the final tournament. Thirteen teams attended the last event on what was to be a hot sunny day but fortunately for the fish and the anglers the fishing day would be reduced to Safelight until 12:00 PM per the IDNR rules that state all tournaments held in the months of July and August will be off the water by noon. Morning temps were in the upper 60’s at launch and it got up to the upper 80’s by the 12:00 weigh-in time. While temps were warm and there were not many clouds, there was a steady breeze and the humidity had gone way down so the weather was actually pretty pleasant. Come weigh-in time all teams were checked in and everyone awaited the outcome. The team of Jim Dietel and Kerry-Michelle Malone finished the season the way they began it with the win and a $1,250 first place payout. Their limit 13.23lbs. While Jim and Kerry won the event they finished second overall in the year end points. Congratulations on a great season Jim and Kerry!

There was a two way tie for 2nd Place by the teams Michael and Richard Rasmussen and Brandt Sjuts and Ty Coon who each had limits weighing 13.06lbs earning them 2nd Place money of $500. 

Big Bass of the tournament was also Michael Rasmussen with a 3.75lb largemouth earning him an extra $200. 

Just out of the Money was the team of Steven Rush and Bob Rush with a limit weighing 12.62lbs earning them some Lucas Oil Products. Steven and Bob also were drawn for the custom Denali Rods from Mark Stowe

Clay Reeves and Daniel Weikle finished the season with one win, two 2nd’s, and two 5th’s making them the 2019 Illinois Central Fishers of Men Points Champions! Congratulations Clay and Daniel! They will receive jackets and plaques from the National Office that will presented to them at the National Championship in March in Florida. Clay and Daniel also earned the points pot which was $5 per entry, totaling $410.00 along with a customized FOM yeti cup.

The year end tackle pack was won by Cameron Cokley. He will receive a $200 Angler Assets tackle pack for his receipt of purchasing AA and was drawn as the lucky winner! 

We would like to thank all our local sponsors who made this first season of the Illinois Central Division at Springfield so much fun. Please visit these sponsors pages and purchase their products as they are the one providing the incentives at our events.
Scheels (Springfield, IL) The Direction TV Capitol Outdoors Lucas Oil Angler Assets Ben Green Insurance Agency Trophies of Grace Outdoors RT Graphics & Printing LLC

See you at the District Championship in September!

Stren Lake Springfield - 07/13/19



Place Team Members # Fish Big Fish Gross Penalty Net Wt Points
1 24326 Kerry Malone
5 2.87 13.23 0 13.23 200

2 24328 Michael Rasmussen
Richard Rasmussen
5 3.75 13.06 0 13.06 199

3 24330 Brandt Sjuts
Ty Coon
5 3.04 13.06 0 13.06 199

4 24341 Steven Rush
Herb Rush
5 0 12.62 0 12.62 197

5 13898 Clay Reeves
5 0 12.55 0 12.55 196

6 24333 Patrick Cravens
Joe Digianvonna
5 0 11.01 0.05 10.96 195

7 24323 Cameron Cokley
Jack Brown
4 3.56 10.46 0 10.46 194

8 24336 Paul Paskevicius
Matteo Turano
4 0 7.49 0 7.49 193

9 24699 Ray Larson
Reggie Davis
2 0 4.56 0 4.56 192

10 24327 Eric Nelson
Timothy Neher
2 0 4.07 0 4.07 191

11 24703 Anthony Schienschang
Matt Cochran
0 0 0 0 0 190

12 24322 Jacob Traeger
0 0 0 0 0 190

13 24335 John Osmer
Kim Crisman
0 0 0 0 0 190

1st Place Malone & Dietel 13.23lbs

2nd Place Rasmussen & Rasmussen 13.06 lbs

2nd Place Sjuts & Coon

Lucas’s Oil Award Rush & Rush

The Direction TV award Rush & Rush