Home Full Schedule Sponsors Shop Login

    Recordcount: 15

Find Tournaments Near You:
Zip Code:
Go Back


Nathan Pulley & Zachary Bodsford narrowly win James River

Congratulations to Nathan Pulley & Zachary Bodsford who caught 5 largemouth bass weighing in at 15.98 lbs to include catching the Big Fish (4.59 lbs) capturing the first place title for the first second of the 2024 season held on James River. Zachary Bodsford also received a $50 gift card to Dances Sporting Goods compliments for Richmond Marine Center for catching the largest bass.

James River provided higher tides than normal due to an east wind in the AM.  Water temperature was hovering around 62 to 64 degrees with heavy cloud cover throughout most of the day.  The winning team reported catching their fish in the Appomattox River throughout the day on most everything used but needed to scramble to cull up to their final weight.  Zachary Bodsford caught the big bass of the day at 4.59 pounds. Both anglers concluded by saying thank you to the Fishers of Men VA-East legacy division and the committee for a great event.  2nd place went to the Keith Estes and Caiden Hanisworth team with a weight of (15.66 lbs.), The third-place team of Ray and Lacy Hogge landed (14.75 lbs.).  Eleven teams participated and several teams reported multiple missed opportunities in landing bass.

The pre-tournament meeting Cawson Church of Christ in Hopewell. Twenty-nine fishermen, family and Cawson Church member attended the meeting, where they were served complimentary and delicious meal of Fried Chicken, and all the fixins and dessert provided by VA-East Legacy Division.  Pastor Daniel Roberts message on “Let Your Light Shine” touched many hearts with four rededicated their life to Christ.  The committee, anglers and I want to thank Pastor Roberts who also serves as out divisional Chaplin for providing our message.  Thank you to Cawson Church of Christ for opening their doors and accepting us with outreached arms and warm hearts.  Our heartfelt thank you extended to all for a wonderful, blessed night.   Many hands helped make this event successful.  

Congratulations to our participating anglers, their families and guest who won over $350 in door prizes. Throughout the season the VA East Legacy Division will raffle off over $1000 plus in retail value of merchandise from our division sponsors at our events.  In addition, the team of Allen Colgin & Marilyn Gibson became eligible to win 1 JB Custom rod (Just Out of the Money Consolation Prize).  The team of Eric & Tyler Haines are eligible to wit 1 JB Custom rod (The One That Got Away Consolation Prize)..  Remember teams must be at the next meeting/event to obtain divisional incentives through our sponsors.  Youth Walter Emerson is the current 13 and under big bass leader.  

The next tournament of the season will be held May 25, 2024 followed by the pre-tournament meeting / event on May 24, 2024 on Lake Anna.  All the information for this event can be found on the national website (www.fomntt.com) on our VA East divisional page. 

Director Jim Sutton will pay 1 entry fee to include bonus bucks for the team that brings the most new members at the Lake Anna meeting/tournament.  A long time friend to Fishers of Men Keith Estes will pay 1 entry fee for the 2024 season to the team brining the most new members during the 2023 season.   

When making your next purchase please consider our Divisional Sponsors which include Richmond Marine Center, JB Custom Rods, Fishin’ Va Guide Service, Fulk’s Custom Cranks, Captain Garys’ Marine Care Products, and Deep Creek Lures

We would like to take this opportunity to thank our National Sponsors that make Fishers of Men possible; Abu Garcia, BassCat Boats, Berkley, FireFly Outdoor & Marine, Frogg Toggs, Jacobs Glass, Mercury, Power-Pole, Realtree Fishing, Fenwick, T&H Marine, and X2 Power.


Serving with care, God Bless!

Jim Sutton

Legacy Tournment JAMES RIVER - 04/27/24



Place Team Members # Fish Big Fish Gross Penalty Net Wt Points
1 32105 Nathan Pulley
Zachary Bodsford
5 4.59 15.98 0 15.98 200

2 32336 Keith Estes
Caiden Hainsworth
5 4.17 15.66 0 15.66 199

3 32335 Ray Hogge
Lacy Hogge
5 0 14.75 0 14.75 198

4 23497 Allen Colgin
Marilyn Gibson
5 3.59 13.98 0 13.98 197

5 27602 Walter Emerson
Walter Emerson
5 2.94 13.2 0 13.2 196

6 23084 Randy Beasley
Jayson Beasley
5 2.65 13.38 0.25 13.13 195

7 27599 Matthew Whittaker
Fisher Whittaker
5 2.27 8.7 0 8.7 194

8 32107 Donald Estes
Luke Owen
5 0 8.4 0 8.4 193

9 32334 Ben Dacey
Hunter Kantzler
2 1.95 3.93 0 3.93 142

10 32106 Brad Baber Jr.
Logan Baber
2 1.07 2.03 0 2.03 191

11 30723 Eric Haines
Tyler Haines
0 0 0 0 0 140

1st Place Nathan Pulley & Zachary Bodsford

2nd Place Keith Estes and Caiden Hainsworth

3rd Place Ray & Lacy Hogge